Magnesita Refractories (formerly LWB Refractories)
425 South Salem Church Road
York, PA 17408 - 5955
Phone: (717) 793-5399;    
Fax:     (717) 793 - 5375;    

Magnesita Refratários S.A. (“the Company” or “Magnesita”) is a vertically integrated refractory producer supplying the steel, cement and various other industries. In addition, the Company exports some of its raw materials, DBM (Dead Burned Magnesia), and refractories to a wide range of countries. The Company is the leading operator in refractory products in South America, and serves customers in North America, Europe and Asia.

Magnesita operates production facilities in Brazil, Argentina, United States, France, Belgium, Germany, Taiwan and China, representing an aggregate production capacity in excess of 1,430 ktpy.

The Company benefits from some of the largest and highest quality reserves of dolomite, magnesite and talc in the world. Magnesita also has other mineral deposits, including chromite and several clays throughout Brazil. The Company is able to use 80% (by volume) of its own raw materials in the production of refractories, making it one of the lowest cost producers in the industry.

Magnesita operates three Research and Development Centers (CPqD), in Brazil, United States and Germany, which support the needs of the Company and its regions. The group is equipped with state of the art equipment for research and development (R&D) in refractory products and raw materials and has a number of technology license agreements with other world refractory technology leaders.

Management — U.S. Operations:
Jim Piraino, COO
Giovanni Tancredo, VP Sales & Marketing
Rick Gladfelter, VP Manufacturing
Paul Dydek, VP Finance

Plant Locations:
York, PA;
also plants in...
Brazil, Argentina, Germany; France; China, Taiwan

Research Locations:
York, PA; Contagem, Brazil; Hagen, Germany

Laboratory Locations:
All major manufacturing locations

Sales Locations:
York, PA; Brazil; Argentina; Colombia; Paraguay; Peru; Uruguay;  Mexico; Germany; France; Italy; South Africa; Sweden; UK; China; Australia; Japan; S. Korea; Taiwan;